Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site

Where to see NFL football in Mississippi River Country

From historic powerhouses to football-crazed cities great for a tailgate, there’s plenty of football fun to be had in Mississippi River Country.

Green Bay Packers Tailgate Village in Titletown District
Titletown, Green Bay (Credit: Travel Wisconsin)

The heart of America is home to some of the NFL’s most iconic teams. From historic powerhouses like the Green Bay Packers to teams in football-crazed cities like the New Orleans Saints, there’s plenty of gameday fun to be had throughout the 10-state region.

Here’s a closer look at the NFL teams in Mississippi River Country.

Minnesota Vikings

Founded: 1960 (first season: 1961)

Where they play: U.S. Bank Stadium, Minneapolis, Minnesota (opened: 2016, capacity: 73,000)

About the Vikings: Play in the NFC’s North division … have won 20 division titles and made 30 playoff appearances … have appeared in 4 Super Bowls

Experience more:

Green Bay Packers

Founded: 1919

Where they play: Lambeau Field, Green Bay, Wisconsin (opened: 1957, capacity: 81,441)

About the Packers: Play in the NFC’s North division … third-oldest franchise in the NFL … only community-owned major league professional sports team in the United States … Green Bay is smallest major league sports market in North America … have won 19 division titles and made 33 playoff appearances … have won 13 league championships, including 4 Super Bowls

Experience more:

Chicago Bears

Founded: 1920

Where they play: Soldier Field, Chicago, Illinois (opened: 1924; capacity: 61,500)

About the Bears: Play in the NFC’s North division … hold the NFL record for most members in the NFL Hall of Fame … have won 19 division titles and made 26 playoff appearances … won Super Bowl XX in 1985 … Soldier Field is the oldest stadium in the NFL

Experience more:

Kansas City Chiefs

Founded: 1959 (first season: 1960)

Where they play: Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City, Missouri (opened: 1972 capacity: 76,416)

About the Chiefs: Play in the AFC’s West division … charter member of the American Football League (AFL), which merged with the NFL in 1970 … have won 12 division championships and made 22 playoff appearances … have won three AFL Championships and two Super Bowls

Tennessee Titans

Founded: 1959 (first season: 1960)

Where they play: Nissan Stadium, Nashville, Tennessee (opened: 1999; capacity: 69,143)

About the Titans: Play in the AFC’s South division … founded as the Houston Oilers in 1960 as a charter member of the AFL … relocated to Tennessee in 1997 … have won 9 division championships and made 23 playoff appearances … lost Super Bowl XXXIV to the St. Louis Rams in 1999

Experience more:

New Orleans Saints

Founded: 1966 (first season: 1967)

Where they play: Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana (opened: 1975; capacity: 73,208)

About the Saints: Play in the NFC’s South division … have won 8 division championships and made 13 playoff appearances … won Super Bowl XLIV in 2009

Experience more: